City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, February 5, 2008

6:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

T. B. McPherson Center, 1717 SE 15th Street

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Rick Bryant (At Large)
Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large)
Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1)
Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2)
Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3)
Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 6:18 PM

ROLL CALL

Present: Edward Braddy, Pegeen Hanrahan, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Scherwin Henry

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Bryant moved and Commissioner Henry seconded to adopt the agenda.

(VOTE: 5-0, Commissioners Braddy and Lowe - Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

NOTE: Commissioner Braddy entered the meeting room after the agenda was adopted.

CITY MANAGER

070873. District 1 Community Meeting (NB)

City Commissioner Scherwin Henry to Host District 1 Community Meeting.

PRESENTATIONS: Wal-Mart Spokeswoman Quinta Vettel, Planning Manager Ralph Hilliard, Public Works Director Teresa Scott, Police Chief Norm Botsford, Recreation and Parks Director Steve Phillips, CRA Manager Anthony Lyons, GRU Assistant General Manager for Energy Delivery Dave Beaulieu, Finance Director Mark Benton, GRU Customer Operations Director Bob Bergdoll, Fire Chief Bill Northcutt and GRU Senior Account Representative Bill Shepherd gave presentations.

GENERAL CITIZEN COMMENT: The following citizens were recognized:

- 1. Gladys Perkins
- 2. John Atwaters
- 3. Vivian Filer
- 4. Karl Donald
- 5. Doris Edwards
- 6. Cynthia
- 7. Walter Willard
- 8. Kevin Claney
- 9. Ms. Hill
- 10. Armondo Grundy
- 11. Ted Nichols
- 12. Jack Carter
- 13. Mark Stowe
- 14. James Tart
- 15. Suzanne Scham
- 16. Eula Williams

19. Edward Mounds20. Betty Harris

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission allow staff to provide presentations

followed by questions and comments from District 1 residents.

No Action Taken

ADJOURNMENT - 9:22 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission