City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 10, 2007

5:30 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Rick Bryant (At Large) Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large) Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1) Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2) Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3) Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 5:34 PM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Bryant moved and Commissioner Lowe seconded to adopt the agenda. (VOTE: 6-0, Commissioner Donovan - Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

NOTE: Commissioner Donovan entered the meeting room at 5:35 PM.

ROLL CALL

Present: Edward Braddy, Pegeen Hanrahan, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Scherwin Henry

GENERAL MANAGER FOR UTILITIES

070024. City Commission Special Meeting May 10, 2007 (B)

INTRODUCTION: GRU General Manager for Utilities Karen Johnson gave a presentation.

AUSTIN ENERGY PRESENTATION: Roger Duncan from Austin Energy gave a presentation.

GRU Director of Marketing and Communication Kathy Viehe made comments.

Chair Hanrahan recognized Dian Deevey, Ed Brown, Rob Brinkman, Joshua Dickinson, Ted LaCombe, Dave Bruderly and Harald Kegelmann who spoke to the matter.

SECOND QUARTER PROGRESS REPORT: GRU Utility Analyst David Barclay and GRU Conservation Analyst Tara Thomas gave presentations.

John Trowbridge from Austin Energy made comments.

RESULTS OF THE ALL SOURCE SOLICITATION: GRU Assistant General Manager for Utilities Ed Regan gave a presentation.

PRESENTATION WRAP UP: GRU General Manager for Utilities Karen Johnson gave wrap up comments.

MOTION: Authorize staff to move forward with what was presented as staff's favorite combination to: 1) Prepare an RFP for biomass-fueled capacity: - Perhaps jointly with other utilities

- Possibly located at Deerhaven
- Possibly multi-fuel including MSW or coal
- Possibly incrementally constructed
- <100 Megawatts

2) Negotiate a purchased power agreement(s) to cover the upcoming period of biomass plant construction, projected fleet retirements and ongoing implementation of DSM programs:

- Economic need for baseload capacity now
- Reliability and price issues vs. the "opportunity energy" we purchase hourly now
- Fuel sources for the energy
- How much and for how long?

3) Continue research and due diligence work on new integrated "eco-industry" possibilities that are designed for carbon capture; and bring back to the June 18, 2007 Special City Commission Meeting.

NOTE: Commissioner Henry left the meeting room at 8:51 PM.

CITIZEN COMMENT: Chair Hanrahan recognized Joshua Dickinson, Tom Cunilio, Dian Deevey, Ted LaCombe, Harald Kegelmann, Sally Dickinson, Dave Bruderly, Ed Brown and Sean McLendon from the Alachua County Environmental Protection Office who spoke to the matter.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission receive the following presentations from a representative of Austin Energy and from staff summarizing information related to demand side management and energy supply, and take any action deemed to be appropriate. a) Review of Gainesville Regional Utilities' Energy Conservation Programs by Roger Duncan from Austin Energy; b) Florida's Energy Efficiency Leader - Second Quarter Progress Report; c) Working Assumptions: Demand Side Management and Energy Supply Planning; and d) Designing an Energy Supply Plan: Results of the All Source Solicitation.

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Bryant, seconded by Commissioner Braddy, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Craig Lowe, Edward Braddy, Rick Bryant and Pegeen Hanrahan Nay: Jack Donovan Absent: Scherwin Henry

ADJOURNMENT - 9:19 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission