City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Monday, February 18, 2008

6:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Rick Bryant (At Large)
Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large)
Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1)
Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2)
Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3)
Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 6:16 PM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Play Video

Commissioner Braddy moved and Commissioner Bryant seconded to adopt the agenda.

(VOTE: 4-0, Commissioners Donovan, Henry and Lowe - Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

Commissioner Donovan entered the meeting room at 6:17 PM, Commissioner Lowe entered the meeting room at 6:18 PM, and Commissioner Henry entered the meeting room at 6:22 PM.

AGENDA STATEMENT

ROLL CALL

Present: Edward Braddy, Pegeen Hanrahan, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Scherwin Henry

CITY MANAGER

Play Video

070399.

Expansion of the 39th Avenue Garage to Create a Centralized Fleet Management Operation at the Public Works Complex (B)

This item involves authorization to the City Manager to submit a new application and Development Plan to the Development Review Board for the expansion of the 39th Avenue garage.

Play Video

Assistant City Manager Fred Murry, Assistant Public Works Director Don Hambidge, Noise Consultant Gary Seibein of Seibein and Associates, and General Services Director Milton Reid gave presentations.

Chair Hanrahan recognized the following citizens who spoke to the matter.

- 1. Attorney for the Stephen Foster Neighborhood Tanner Andrews
- 2. Dr. Michael Parsons
- 3. Clarence McGee
- 4. Bill Williams
- 5. Brandy Culpepper
- 6. Ann Lowry
- 7. Robert Pearce

- 8. Jimmy Harnsberger
- 9. Jennifer Muir
- 10. Dick Bradley
- 11. Jill Murphree-Leitner
- 12. Sandy Kennedy
- 13. James C. Miller
- 14. Kimberly McNeil
- 15. Chris Burns
- 16. Barbara Ruth
- 17. Glenda Warren
- 18. David Pace
- 19. Commissioner Elect Thomas Hawkins
- 20. Rob Brinkman
- 21. Marty Easters
- 22. Lauren Poe
- 23. Mark Hurm
- 24. Jerry Williamson
- 25. Susan Fairforest

MOTION: Commissioner Braddy moved and Commissioner Bryant seconded to deny the expansion of the 39th Avenue garage facility and direct the City Manager's Office to develop a plan to phase out the fleet service, material storage, and other incompatible uses from that site.

(VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

RECOMMENDATION

Community Development Committee to the City Commission:
1) Recommends Option A1 from the City Staff
recommendations; 2) Receive additional information for
consideration for Options 2 and 3 from the Stephen Foster
Neighborhood recommendations; and 3) remove this item
from the referral list.

A motion was made by Commissioner Braddy, seconded by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Bryant, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Scherwin Henry, Craig Lowe, Edward Braddy, Rick Bryant and Pegeen Hanrahan

070399 200709131300.pdf 070399 200711051800.pdf 070399_20080117.pdf 070399a_20080117.pdf 070399c_20080117.doc.pdf 070399d_20080117.doc.pdf Citizen Comment.pdf 070399_20080218.pdf 070399a_20080218.pdf 070399b_20080218.pdf 070399c_20080218.pdf 070399d_20080218.pdf 070399e_20080218.pdf 070399f 20080218.pdf 070399g_20080218.pdf 070399b_20080117.pdf 070399_20080218.pdf 070399h 20080218.pdf

ADJOURNMENT - 10:30 PM

Play Video

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission