City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Monday, January 30, 2006

3:00 PM

Joint City/County Commission Special Meeting

Jack Durrance Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Chuck Chestnut (District 1) Commissioner Warren Nielsen (At Large) Commissioner Rick Bryant (At Large) Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2) Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3) Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Equal Opportunity Department at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 3:05 PM

NOTE: Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Chestnut called the meeting to order.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Lowe moved and Commissioner Nielsen seconded to adopt the agenda. (VOTE: 4-0, Commissioner Braddy, Commissioner Donovan and Mayor Hanrahan -Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

ROLL CALL

Present: Pegeen Hanrahan, Warren Nielsen, Chuck Chestnut, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe and Jack Donovan Absent: Edward Braddy

CITY MANAGER

050870 Public Access Television Channel (B)

This agenda item relates to the evaluation of responses received to a Request for Proposal jointly issued by the City and County for management of a public access television station.

INTRODUCTION: Alachua County Director of Administrative Services Betty Baker, Alachua County Purchasing Manager Larry Sapp and City of Gainesville Revenue Recovery Specialist Audrey Lewis gave presentations.

CITIZEN COMMENT: Chair Hanrahan recognized the following citizens who spoke to the matter:

- 1. Ellen Huntley
- 2. Walter Willard
- 3. Kali Blount
- 4. James Coates
- 5. Susan Botcher
- 6. Charlie Grapski
- 7. Dr. Robert Beebe
- 8. Raquel Garcia

Alachua County Attorney Dave Wagner, Alachua County Manager Randall Reid, and Alachua County Public Information Officer Mark Sexton made comments.

MOTION: 1) Reject the proposal and direct staff to explore PEG alternatives(Alternative recommendation B); 2) for the public access channel, staff should develop an option (within 120 days) in which City and County jointly provide facilities and technical assistance for a public access TV channel under the operational oversight of a citizen advisory committee appointed jointly by the Gainesville City Commission and the Board of County Commissioners; 3) this option should limit the initial capital investment to \$250,000 and provide studio space within publicly owned facilities or facilities provided at no cost to the public; and 4) include options for private sector funding and technical support.

CITIZEN COMMENT TO THE MOTION: Chair Hanrahan recognized Walter Willard, Charles Grapski and Raquel Garcia who spoke to the matter.

RECOMMENDATION Staff recommends that the City Commission reject the proposal because of the low evaluation score and because the potential costs are so high in relation to other demands placed on the governmental budgets.

Alternative Recommendation A:

Staff recommends that the City Commission accept the proposal with the following criteria: 1) that funding be limited to a maximum capital expense of \$250,000 and that no other funding be made available; and 2) that staff be authorized to negotiate a contract regarding the management services to be provided and the funding limits if the proposer is willing to negotiate such a contract.

The fiscal impact of this recommendation would be a maximum outlay of \$250,000 from the Cox funding that would become available upon activation of a third channel or within a reasonable time thereafter. If the full \$250,000 is used for public access management, then no portion of this funding would be available for the City and the County to use for their own current governmental or educational channels.

Alternative Recommendation B: Staff recommends that the City Commission reject the proposal and direct staff to explore PEG alternatives.

There is no fiscal impact to this recommendation.

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowe, seconded by Commissioner Donovan, that this matter be Approved, as shown above - See Motion(s). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Pegeen Hanrahan, Warren Nielsen, Chuck Chestnut, Craig Lowe and Jack Donovan Nay: Rick Bryant Absent: Edward Braddy

050870_200601301500.pdf 050870a_200601301500.pdf 050870b_200601301500.pdf 050870c_200601301500.pdf

ADJOURNMENT - 5:47 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission