City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 20, 2010

12:00 PM

City Commission Swearing In Ceremony

Thelma Boltin Center

City Commission

Mayor Craig Lowe (At Large)

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large)

Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1)

Commissioner Lauren Poe (District 2)

Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3)

Commissioner Randy Wells (District 4)

Commissioner Thomas Hawkins (At Large)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 12:12 PM

ROLL CALL

Present: Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Scherwin Henry, Lauren Poe, Thomas Hawkins and Randy Wells

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda was adopted by consensus.

SWEARING IN CEREMONY

INVOCATION

Aqueela Khuddus, Muslim Association of North Central Florida.

Oath of Office - Randy Wells

The Honorable Walter Green, Alachua County Court Judge administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Randy Wells.

Oath of Office - Craig Lowe

The Honorable Walter Green, Alachua County Court Judge administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Craig Lowe.

Comments from Commissioner Randy Wells

Commissioner Randy Wells gave inaugural comments.

Comments from Mayor Craig Lowe

Mayor Craig Lowe gave inaugural comments.

ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM

091053. Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

MOTION: Commissioner Scherwin Henry moved and Commissioner Hawkins seconded to elect Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2010-2011 term.

(VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

RECOMMENDATION

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for 2010-2011 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Henry, seconded by Commissioner Hawkins, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Randy Wells, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Thomas Hawkins, Jack Donovan, Lauren Poe, Scherwin Henry and Craig Lowe

ADJOURNMENT - 12:39 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission