City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 4, 2006

12:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

Savannah Grande, 301 North Main Street

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Craig Lowe (District 4) Commissioner Rick Bryant (At Large) Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large) Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1) Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2) Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Equal Opportunity Department at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business day

CALL TO ORDER - 12:07 PM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Bryant moved to adopt the agenda. (VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

ROLL CALL

Present: Pegeen Hanrahan, Pegeen Hanrahan, Edward Braddy, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Scherwin Henry

SWEARING IN CEREMONY

INVOCATION

Reverend Adrian Taylor, Pastor - Springhill Baptist Church gave the invocation.

Oath of Office - Scherwin Henry

The Honorable Walter M. Green, County Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Scherwin Henry for City Commissioner (District 1) for the 2006-2009 term.

Oath of Office - Jeanna Mastrodicasa

The Honorable Walter M. Green, County Court Judge, administered the Oath of Office to Jeanna Mastrodicasa for City Commissioner (At-Large) for the 2006-2009 term.

Comments from Commissioner Scherwin Henry

Commissioner Scherwin Henry made inaugural comments.

Comments from Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa

Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa made inaugural comments.

Comments from Mayor/Commissioners

ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM

060000 Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

Commissioner Jack Donovan nominated Commissioner Craig Lowe to be Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the term year 2006-2007. There were no other nominations. (VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for 2006-2007 term.

Approved, as shown above

ADJOURNMENT - 12:41 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission