City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Monday, September 27, 2010

6:30 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Craig Lowe (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large) Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1) Commissioner Lauren Poe (District 2) Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3) Commissioner Randy Wells (District 4) Commissioner Thomas Hawkins (At Large)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 6:30 PM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Poe moved and Commissioner Donovan seconded to adopt the agenda, as modified. (VOTE: 5-0, Commissioners Henry and Hawkins - Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

MODIFICATIONS :

1. Correspondence from Robert Pearce and Kayla Sosnow were entered into the record.

2. Requested Actions submitted by Assistant City Manager Fred Murry.

ROLL CALL

Present: Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Scherwin Henry, Lauren Poe, Thomas Hawkins and Randy Wells

CITY MANAGER

100315. Cabot-Koppers Superfund Site US EPA Proposed Plan (B)

This item involves hearing a presentation from the Local Intergovernmental Team on the Final recommendations and comments on the United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) Proposed Plan for the Cabot-Koppers Superfund Site and authorizing the Mayor to transmit the City of Gainesville's final comments and recommendations to the US EPA.

INTRODUCTION: City Manager Russ Blackburn gave introductions.

PRESENTATIONS: Assistant City Manager Fred Murry, Alachua County Environmental Protection Representative John Mousa, Managing Design Engineer Rick Hutton, Planning Manager Ralph Hilliard and GRU Technical Expert John Herbert gave presentations.

NOTE: Commissioner Henry entered the meeting room at 7:27 PM and Commissioner Hawkins entered the meeting room at 8:14 PM.

CITIZEN COMMENT: Mayor Lowe recognized the following citizens who spoke to the matter.

- 1. Pat Cline
- 2. Cindy Harrington
- 3. Sharon Sheets
- 4. Joe Prager

- 5. Bea Horton
- 6. Robert Pearce
- 7. Sandra Watts Kennedy
- 8. David Pais
- 9. Kavla Sosnow
- 10. Maria Parsons

MOTION: Commissioner Poe moved and Commissioner Wells seconded to: 1) Authorize Local Intergovernmental Team (LIT) staff to compile an electronic file of relevant documents requested to be included in Administrative Record and submit to USEPA with final Citv recommendations by, October 15, 2010; 2) authorize the Mayor to send a letter to the Center for Disease Control requesting investigation of resident health concerns; 3) authorize the Mayor to transmit the City's recommendations including modifications and supporting comments to the USEPA before October 15, 2010; 4) include the letters from Robert Pearce and Kayla Sosnow in the transmittal with the exception of Mr. Pearce's page 11, No. 6 suggestion; and 5) include modifications indicated by the City Commission as follows: a) page 22,#19, include in the relocation assistance comment that relocation assistance during remediation that the language "or permanently as appropriate to the individual homeowner" be included; b) that the USEPA compel residents in contaminated areas that these areas be cleaned to residential standards using environmental remediation techniques as the strongly preferred alternative; and c) page 20,#16, that the USEPA should restrict engineering or institutional controls to be used in lieu of viable remediation.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission: 1) hear a presentation from the Local Intergovernmental Team on the final recommendations and comments on the United States Environmental Protection Agency Proposed Plan for the Cabot-Koppers Superfund Site; and 2) authorize the Mayor to submit the final recommendations and comments on the United States Environmental Protection Agency Proposed Plan for the Cabot-Koppers Superfund Site to the US EPA by October 15, 2010.

A motion was made by Commissioner Poe, seconded by Commissioner Wells, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Randy Wells, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Thomas Hawkins, Jack Donovan, Lauren Poe, Scherwin Henry and Craig Lowe

ADJOURNMENT - 9:23 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission