City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Monday, May 7, 2007

6:00 PM

Joint City/County Commission Special Meeting

Jack Durrance Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Rick Bryant (At Large)
Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large)
Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1)
Commissioner Ed Braddy (District 2)
Commissioner Jack Donovan (District 3)
Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 6:16 PM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Bryant moved and Commissioner Lowe seconded to adopt the agenda.

(VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

ROLL CALL

Present: Edward Braddy, Pegeen Hanrahan, Rick Bryant, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Scherwin Henry

CITY MANAGER

070021. Interlocal Agreement with Alachua County for the Additional Five (5) Cents Local Option Fuel Tax (B)

Section 336.025, Florida Statutes allow counties to impose an additional local option gas tax of one to five cents on motor fuel sold in a county, with the revenue generated by such tax to be used by county and municipal governments only for transportation expenditures authorized by law. Alachua County is considering adopting an ordinance for the implementation of this additional five cents to be effective January 1, 2008.

CITY/COUNTY STAFF PRESENTATIONS: Alachua County Manager Randy Reid, City Manager Russ Blackburn, Alachua County Attorney Dave Wagner, Alachua County Assistant Public Works Director/Operations Dave Cerlanek, RTS Director Jesus Gomez, City of Gainesville Public Works Director Teresa Scott, City Administrative Services Director Becky Rountree, City Attorney Marion Radson and Alachua County Assistant Public Works Director/Transportation & Development Michael Fay gave presentations.

MOTION: 1) Encourage the Board of County Commissioners to approve the terms of the allocation of revenues as negotiated by the City and County Managers; 2) indentify an expenditure plan to be as stated by Commissioner Byerly and roughly described in the sheet (back-up); 3) include bicycle/pedestrian projects, unpaved road alternative surface treatments, the unfunded resurfacing/construction projects in accord with the approved Alachua County CIP; and (roadway safety improvements).

CITIZEN COMMENT: Chair Hanrahan recognized Walter Willard, Kent Sokmensuer and Bob Cohen who spoke to the matter.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission discuss as necessary.

A motion was made by Commissioner Donovan, seconded by Commissioner Lowe, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Scherwin Henry, Craig Lowe and Pegeen Hanrahan Nay: Edward Braddy and Rick Bryant

ADJOURNMENT - 9:17 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission