# **City of Gainesville**

*City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601* 



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

6:00 PM

**City Commission Special Meeting** 

**City Hall Auditorium** 

# **City Commission**

Mayor Pegeen Hanrahan (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Jack Donovan (District 3) Commissioner Thomas Hawkins (At Large) Commissioner Jeanna Mastrodicasa (At Large) Commissioner Scherwin Henry (District 1) Commissioner Lauren Poe (District 2) Commissioner Craig Lowe (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

## CALL TO ORDER - 6:03 PM

## Play Video

*Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Jack Donovan called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM.* 

## **ROLL CALL**

Present: Pegeen Hanrahan, Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Scherwin Henry, Lauren Poe and Thomas Hawkins

## **ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA**

## Play Video

Commissioner Lowe moved and Commissioner Henry seconded to adopt the agenda. (VOTE: 5-0, Commissioner Mastrodicasa and Mayor Hanrahan - Absent, MOTION CARRIED)

## **ORDINANCE, SECOND READING - ROLL CALL REQUIRED**

#### Play Video

## 080080. URBAN SERVICES REPORT - AREA AROUND S.W. 20th AVENUE, EAST OF AND INCLUDING I-75 (B)

### Ordinance No. 0-08-40

An Ordinance of the City of Gainesville, Florida, adopting an Urban Services Report which sets forth the plans to provide urban services to an area generally located south of the City limits and north of Butler Plaza and Windmeadows Apartments, west of S.W. 34th Street and the City limits up to and including I-75, and north of the vicinity of S.W. Archer Road and the City limits; the area is proposed for annexation by the City of Gainesville pursuant to Chapter 90-496, as amended, Special Act, Laws of Florida, known as the Alachua County Boundary Adjustment Act; providing directions to the City Manager, the City Attorney and the Clerk of the Commission; providing a repealing clause; providing a severability clause; and providing an immediate effective date.

#### Play Video

Strategic Planning Manager Karen Billings gave a presentation.

**<u>RECOMMENDATION</u>** The City Commission adopt the proposed ordinance.

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowe, seconded by Commissioner Henry, that this matter be Adopted on Final Reading (Ordinance). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Lauren Poe, Scherwin Henry and Thomas Hawkins Absent: Jeanna Mastrodicasa and Pegeen Hanrahan

080080\_200807141300.pdf 080080\_REVISED\_USR\_20080714.pdf 080080\_ordinance\_20080716.pdf 080080a\_ordinance\_20080716.pdf 080080b\_ordiance\_20080716.pdf

## **RESOLUTIONS - ROLL CALL REQUIRED**

## **080146.** FIRE SERVICES SPECIAL ASSESSMENT (B)

A resolution of the City of Gainesville, Florida, relating to the provision of fire services, facilities and programs in the City of Gainesville, Florida; imposing Fire Services Special Assessments against assessed property located within the City for the fiscal year that begins October 1, 2008; approving the rate of assessment; approving the assessment roll; providing for severability; and providing an immediate effective date. (B)

PRESENTATION: Assistant City Manager Paul Folkers, Fire Chief Bill Northcutt, Consultant (Government Services Group) Camille Tharpe, Assistant City Attorney Liz Waratuke, and Administrative Services Director Becky Rountree gave presentations.

NOTE: Commissioner Mastrodicasa entered the meeting room at 6:22 PM.

*NOTE:* Mayor Hanrahan entered the meeting room at 7:01 PM and assumed the gavel.

CITIZEN COMMENT: Chair Hanrahan recognized the following citizens who spoke to the matter.

- 1. Phil Emmer
- 2. Bob Page
- 3. Doug Whitaker
- 4. John Richter
- 5. Rudy Valladares
- 6. Malcolm Davis
- 7. Mike Patel
- 8. Tony Canterucci
- 9. Rev. John Gillespie
- 10. Michael Gravois
- 11. Corey Williams
- 12. Brenda Krames
- 13. Bryan Harrington
- 14. Reed Langfort
- 15. Richard Ashbrook
- 16. John Marti
- 17. Debbie McCloud
- 18. Pat Dailey

- 19. Ruth Slobody
- 20. Sid Crosby
- 21. Jonathan Stevens
- 22. Art Ellingsen
- 23. Betsy Whitaker
- 24. Nidel Bourghannam
- 25. Larry Reimer
- 26. Tim Martin
- 27. Arthur Stockwell
- 28. Eric Wild
- 29. Rev. Gregory Magruder
- 30. Zana Dupee
- 31. Giovanna Holbrook
- 32. Carl Krames

MOTION: Commissioner Henry moved and Commissioner Hawkins seconded to not adopt Resolution # 080146 and not establish any final rate for fire services special assessment. (VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

# **RECOMMENDATION** The City Commission: 1) receive the written objections filed; 2) hear testimony from all interested persons; 3) establish final rates for the Fire Services Special Assessment; and 4) adopt the proposed Final Rate Resolution.

A motion was made by Commissioner Henry, seconded by Commissioner Hawkins, that this matter be Not Adopted (Resolution). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Craig Lowe, Jack Donovan, Lauren Poe, Scherwin Henry, Jeanna Mastrodicasa, Thomas Hawkins and Pegeen Hanrahan

080146\_Final Fire Resolution\_20080716.pdf 080146a\_PPT\_20080716.PDF 080146b\_PPT\_20080716.PDF

## ADJOURNMENT - 10:51 PM

Play Video

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission