City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Monday, October 15, 2001

6:00 PM

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Tom Bussing (At-Large)
Commissioner Warren Nielsen (At-Large)
Commissioner Chuck Chestnut (District 1)
Commissioner John R. Barrow (District 2)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Pegeen Hanrahan (District 3)

CALL TO ORDER - 6:09 PM

ROLL CALL

Present: Chuck Chestnut, Warren Nielsen, Pegeen Hanrahan, John R. Barrow and Tom Bussing

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

ORDINANCES, 1ST READING - ROLL CALL REQUIRED

000882 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN AMENDMENT - CONSERVATION, OPEN SPACE AND GROUNDWATER RECHARGE ELEMENT (B)

ORDINANCE NO. 0-01-18; PETITION NO. 175CPA-00PB

An ordinance of the City of Gainesville, Florida, amending the Conservation, Open Space and Groundwater Recharge Element of the City of Gainesville 1991-2001 Comprehensive Plan; revising policies on wetlands; adding provisions concerning the Alachua County Forever program; adding provisions concerning the Alachua County Murphree Wellfield Protection Code; adding provisions concerning Floridan aquifer recharge areas; providing for an Environmentally Significant Land and Resources map series within the Future Land Use Map Series; adding Tumblin Creek and Hogtown Creek to the priority list for improving water quality; removing outdated provisions; amending provisions concerning NPDES permitting; making minor amendments throughout; providing directions to the City Manager; stating intent to adopt the amended element as part of the City of Gainesville 2000-2010 Comprehensive Plan; providing a severability clause; providing a repealing clause; and providing an effective date.

...recommendation

The City Commission (1) hear a presentation from Planning staff regarding changes to the Plan Board's recommendation (2) approve Petition 175CPA-00 PB, with City Plan Board modifications; and (3) adopt the proposed ordinance with Planning Staff's recommended revisions.

City of Gainesville Community Development Director Tom Saunders, Chair for the Center of Wetlands at the University of Florida Dr. Tom Crisman, St. John's River Water Management District Representative Barbara Hatchett, Planning Manager Ralph Hilliard, Alachua County Environmental Protection Representative Michael Drummond and Chief of Comprehensive Planning Dean Mimms gave presentations.

MOTION: Chair Bussing passed the gavel to Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hanrahan in order to make a motion to retain the existing wetlands policy that exists under the current comprehensive plan.

(No second - motion fails)

NOTE: Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hanrahan retained the gavel for the remainder of the item.

Chair Pro Tem Hanrahan recognized Citizens Jim Konish, Phil Emmer, Stuart Cullen, Mary Helen Wheeler, Dink Henderson, Mark Goldstein, David Welch, Gladys Lane, Dick Williams, Water Management Committee Chair James Higman, Paula Stahmer, Lori McGriff, Everett Wilcox, Breck Weingart, David Miller, December McSherry, Sam Harvey, Barry Rutenberg, Darlene Pifalo, Jay Brown, Marilyn Walker, Doris Bardon, Margaret Archer and Vincent Lipsio who spoke to the matter.

MAIN MOTION: 1) Refer Commissioner Nielsen's document to staff for them to review and also incorporate some of the other items that have been discussed tonight and come back to the City Commission with recommendations; 2) continue the first reading of this ordinance to Monday, November 26th after 6:00 PM; and 3) request the Clerk of the Commission to re-advertise the first reading of this ordinance at least seven days prior to that meeting.

RECOMMENDATION

The City Commission (1) hear a presentation from Planning staff regarding changes to the Plan Board's recommendation (2) approve Petition 175CPA-00 PB, with City Plan Board modifications; and (3) adopt the proposed ordinance with Planning Staff's recommended revisions.

A motion was made by Commissioner Barrow, seconded by Commissioner Nielsen, that this matter be Continued (1st Reading) for November 26, 2001. The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Chuck Chestnut, Warren Nielsen, Pegeen Hanrahan and John R. Barrow Nay: Tom Bussing

ADJOURN - 9:48 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission