City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Draft

February 17, 2022

9:00 AM

City Commission Swearing-In Ceremony

City Hall Steps

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro-Tem Reina Saco (At Large, Seat A) Commissioner Cynthia Moore Chestnut (At Large, Seat B) Commissioner Desmon Duncan-Walker (District 1) Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2) Commissioner David Arreola (District 3) Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

CALL TO ORDER - 9:05 PM

AGENDA STATEMENT

ROLL CALL

Present 7 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Member Chestnut, Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Saco, and Commissioner Arreola

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Saco, seconded by Commissioner Hayes-Santos, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Member Chestnut, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Saco
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Arreola

PRAYER/INVOCATION - Heard

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner Cynthia Chestnut

COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONER CYNTHIA CHESTNUT

Commissioner Chestnut gave thanks and remarks.

ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM

<u>210868.</u> Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

Motion: Select Commissioner Saco as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2021-2022 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hayes-Santos, seconded by Commissioner Ward, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Member Chestnut, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Saco
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Arreola

ADJOURNMENT - 9:21 PM