City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Meeting Minutes

Thursday, May 17, 2012

12:00 PM

City Commission Swearing In Ceremony
Thelma Boltin Center, 516 NE 2nd Avenue

City Commission

Mayor Craig Lowe (At Large)

Mayor-Commissioner Pro-Tem Lauren Poe (At Large)

Commissioner Thomas Hawkins (At Large)

Commissioner Yvonne Hinson-Rawls (District 1)

Commissioner Todd Chase (District 2)

Commissioner Susan Bottcher (District 3)

Commissioner Randy Wells (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

CALL TO ORDER - 12:07 PM

ROLL CALL

Present: Craig Lowe, Lauren Poe, Thomas Hawkins, Randy Wells, Todd Chase, Susan Bottcher and Yvonne Hinson-Rawls

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The agenda was adopted by consensus.

INVOCATION

Mr. Larry Reimer, United Church of Gainesville gave the invocation.

Oath of Office - Yvonne Hinson-Rawls

The Honorable Stephan P. Mickle United States District Judge administered the oath of office to Yvonne Hinson-Rawls.

Oath of Office - Lauren Poe

The Honorable Stephan P. Mickle United States District Judge administered the oath of office to Commissioner Lauren Poe.

Comments from Commissioner Yvonne Hinson-Rawls

Commissioner Yvonne Hinson-Rawls gave inaugural comments.

Comments from Commissioner Lauren Poe

Commissioner Lauren Poe gave inaugural comments.

ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM

120000 Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

MOTION: A motion was made by Commissioner Bottcher, seconded by Commissioner Hawkins to appoint Commissioner Lauren Poe as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2012-2013 term.

(VOTE: 7-0, MOTION CARRIED)

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for 2012-2013 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Bottcher, seconded by Commissioner Hawkins, that this matter be Approved as shown above (See Motion). The motion carried by the following vote:

Votes: Aye: Lauren Poe, Randy Wells, Susan Bottcher, Todd Chase, Yvonne Hinson-Rawls, Thomas Hawkins and Craig Lowe

ADJOURNMENT - 12:47 PM

Kurt M. Lannon, Clerk of the Commission