City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Draft

May 12, 2021

5:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large) Commissioner Reina Saco (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Gail Johnson (At Large) Commissioner Desmon Duncan-Walker (District 1) Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2) Commissioner David Arreola (District 3) Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

CALL TO ORDER - 5:08 PM

AGENDA STATEMENT

ROLL CALL

Present 7 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Commissioner Arreola, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Johnson

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Ward, seconded by Commissioner Saco, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Commissioner Arreola, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Johnson

BUSINESS DISCUSSION ITEMS

<u>201211.</u> Discussion of GRU's Proposed FY22 Budget (B)

Motion: 1) General Government and GRU come back with up to \$5 million in cuts (not including staff freezes or layoffs); 2) Continuing resolution for a reduction in the General Fund Transfer by \$2 million a year; and 3) Supporting information as far as the historical trending rates, future trends and the bill comparison.

Ed Bielarski, GRU General Manager introduced the item.

Claudia Rasnick, GRU Chief Financial Officer gave a presentation.

Public Comment: Nathan Skop, Paul Clayton, Brian OBrien, Debbie Martinez, Nancy Daren, Armando Grundy-Gomes, Juanita Miles-Hamilton and Mary Lou Hildreth.

<u>RECOMMENDATION</u> Hear a presentation from staff and take any action deemed appropriate.

A motion was made by Commissioner Arreola, seconded by Commissioner Saco, that this Matter be Approved by Consensus. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, Commissioner Arreola, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Johnson
- Nay: 1 Commissioner Hayes-Santos

MEMBER COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT - 7:28 PM