City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

Monday, August 19, 2013

5:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Ed Braddy (At Large) Commissioner Lauren Poe (At Large) Commissioner Thomas Hawkins (At Large) Commissioner Yvonne Hinson-Rawls (District 1) Commissioner Todd Chase (District 2) Commissioner Susan Bottcher (District 3) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Randy Wells (District 4)

Persons with disabilities who require assistance to participate in this meeting are requested to notify the Office of Equal Opportunity at 334-5051 or call the TDD phone line at 334-2069 at least two business days in advance.

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

The meeting was called to order at 5:15PM.

A motion was made by Commissioner Poe, seconded by Commissioner Bottcher,that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Mayor Braddy, Commissioner Bottcher, Commissioner Poe, Commissioner Chase, Commissioner Hawkins, Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Wells, and Commissioner Hinson-Rawls

ROLL CALL

AGENDA STATEMENT

GENERAL MANAGER

130234. GREC Settlement Agreement (B)

Discuss the Settlement Agreement terms between The City of Gainesville, Florida, d/b/a Gainesville Regional Utilities and Gainesville Renewable Energy Center, LLC (GREC).

MOTION: Comm Chase moved with Comm Poe seconding to direct staff to ask arbitrator to rule on dismissal and to take no further action until motion to dismiss is ruled on and further direction is given. Motion carried 5-2 with Comm Hinson-Rawls and Hawkins voting no.

Jim Konish, Mac McEachern, Jim Gordon, Jo Beaty, Nathan Skop, Debbie Martinez, Annie Orlando, Juanita Miles-Hamilton, Donald Sheppard, Mark Venske, Pat Fitzpatrick, Rob Brinkman, Ernesto Martinez and Wilbur Holloway spoke to the matter.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission: 1) hear a presentation and discuss the Settlement terms and; 2) provide further direction to staff relative to an agreement.

Approved, as shown above

ADJOURNMENT-7:43PM

Kurt Lannon, Clerk of the Commission