City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

May 4, 2017 12:00 PM

City Commission Swearing-In Ceremony

Thelma Boltin Center, 516 NE 2nd Avenue, Gainesville, FL

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Harvey Budd (At Large)
Commissioner Helen Warren (At Large)
Commissioner Charles Goston (District 1)
Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2)
Commissioner David Arreola (District 3)
Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

ROLL CALL - 12:01 PM

Present 7 - Commissioner Goston, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd, seconded by Commissioner Warren,that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Goston, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Hayes-Santos,
Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, and
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd

AGENDA STATEMENT

INVOCATION

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner- Harvey Ward

OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner - David Arreola

OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner Helen Warren

Comments from Commissioner David Arreola

Comments from Commissioner Harvey Ward

Comments from Commissioner Helen Warren

ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM

<u>170000.</u> Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

Motion: Appoint Commissioner Budd as Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

<u>RECOMMENDATION</u> The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for 2017-2018 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Warren, seconded by Commissioner Hayes-Santos, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Goston, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Hayes-Santos,
Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, and
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd

ADJOURNMENT - 1:07 PM

Kurt Lannon, Clerk of the Commission