City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

May 22, 2017

9:00 AM

Joint City/County Commission Special Meeting

Jack Durrance Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large) Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Harvey Budd (At Large) Commissioner Helen Warren (At Large) Commissioner Charles Goston (District 1) Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2) Commissioner David Arreola (District 3) Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

ROLL CALL - 9:05 AM

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Warren, seconded by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd,that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 6 Commissioner Goston, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd
- Absent: 1 Commissioner Hayes-Santos

AGENDA STATEMENT

<u>150938.</u> Interlocal Agreement with Alachua County for Local Option Fuel Tax (NB)

Commissioner Hayes-Santos arrived at 9:07 AM.

Motion by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Budd, seconded by Commissioner Hayes-Santos: 1) Approve Option #1 for the 3-cents gas tax for a one-year extension - (Alachua County - 51.312%), (City of Gainesville - 41.909%), (Other Municipalities -6.779%); 2) Professional-mediated settlement negotiations to look at the full 11 cents of the gas tax transportation funding by the end of the year; 3) Pro rata basis of 5.808 for smaller municipalities; and 4) Delegate authority to sign the agreements to respective Chairs. Motion passed 7-0.

Paul Folkers, Debbie Leistner, April Shuping and Phil Mann made presentations.

Donald Shepherd, Chris Furlow, Bob Karp, Kristen Young and Tamara Robbins spoke to the matter.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission discuss the Local Option Gas Tax with the County Commission.

Approved, as shown above

Commission Comments

Commissioner Arreola - "Open Minds"

ADJOURNMENT - 11:55 AM

Kurt Lannon, Clerk of the Commission