# **City of Gainesville**

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



### **Minutes - Final**

May 17, 2018 12:00 PM

**City Commission Swearing-In Ceremony** 

Thelma Boltin Center, 516 NE 2nd Avenue, Gainesville, FL

## **City Commission**

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large)
Commissioner Helen Warren (At Large)
Commissioner Gail Johnson (At Large)
Commissioner Gigi Simmons (District 1)
Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2)
Commissioner David Arreola (District 3)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

#### CALL TO ORDER - 12:04 PM

#### **ROLL CALL**

Present 7 - Mayor Poe, Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos, Commissioner
 Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, Commissioner
 Johnson, and Commissioner Simmons

#### **AGENDA STATEMENT**

#### ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Warren, seconded by Commissioner Ward, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Mayor Poe, Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos, Commissioner

Ward, Commissioner Arreola, and Commissioner Warren

Abstain: 2 - Commissioner Johnson, and Commissioner Simmons

#### INVOCATION

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

**OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner Gail Johnson** 

**OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner Gigi Simmons** 

**Comments from Commissioner Gail Johnson** 

Comments from Commissioner Gigi Simmons

#### **ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM**

180000. Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

Motion: Elect Commissioner Hayes-Santos as the Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2018-2019 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Warren, seconded by Commissioner Ward, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Mayor Poe, Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, Commissioner Johnson, and Commissioner Simmons

**ADJOURNMENT - 12:34 PM**