City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

1:30 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large)
Commissioner Helen Warren (At Large)
Commissioner Gail Johnson (At Large)
Commissioner Gigi Simmons (District 1)
Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2)
Commissioner David Arreola (District 3)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

CALL TO ORDER - 1:32 PM

AGENDA STATEMENT

ROLL CALL

Present 7 - Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, Commissioner Johnson, Commissioner Simmons, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

Commissioner Warren arrived at 1:39 PM.

Amendment: Amend timeline to include 15 minute break after FOP presentation. Public comment to begin at 6:45 PM and last for two hours.

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos, seconded by Commissioner Simmons, that this Matter be Adopted as Amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Mayor Poe, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, Commissioner Johnson, Commissioner Simmons, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos

PUBLIC HEARING

180328.

Public Hearing to resolve all disputed issues at impasse between the City of Gainesville and Gator Lodge #67 Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) (B)

Stephanie Marchman and Jim Brantley made presentations.

Motion: 1) adopt management's position, with the following changes; 2) shift pick language kept as status quo; 3) add language to more strictly structure the schedule changes; 4) that we remove the sweat equity portion, keep as status quo, and leave that to bargaining in future years; and 5) add back pay for the clothing and leather allowances for FY 17 and 18.

Recess - 4:16 PM

Reconvene - 4:32 PM

Recess - 5:00 PM

Reconvene - 6:46 PM

Public Comment

- 1. Chief Tony Jones
- 2. Nathan Skop
- 3. Mike Schibola
- 4. Pastor Carl Krames

- 5. Dejean Cain
- 6. Cafir Carol
- 7. Todd Chase
- 8. Walter Willard
- 9. Kelly Dolce
- 10. John Niebauer
- 11. Alan Edgehill
- 12. Pastor Carl Anderson
- 13. Bradly Michaels Roberts
- 14. Louie Acevedo
- 15. David Ferro
- 16. Michael Becker
- 17. Perry Clawson
- 18. Debbie Martinez
- 19. Beth Murphy
- 20. Sheri Evans
- 21. Edwards Evans
- 22. Wayne Moon
- 23. Christina Jones
- 24. Brittany Coleman
- 25. Maria Huff Edwards
- 26. Laura Campos
- 27. Scott Ehnlich
- 28. Miriam Elliott
- 29. Bruce Frendahl
- 30. Choppy Hoes
- 31. Pradeep Kumar
- 32. Michelle Plourde
- 33. Jill Nash
- 34. Sherry Kitchens
- 35. Jim Kanish
- 36. Anthony Ferrara for Dr. Patricia Grunder
- 37. Darlene Pifalo
- 38. Alisa Kenney
- 39. Mr. McEachern
- 40. Brad Heron
- 41. Lenora Mazlaghani
- 42. Michael Crawart
- 43. Wilbur Holloway
- 44. Seabon, Sonny Thompson

RECOMMENDATION

The City Commission: a) hold a public hearing on all matters at impasse; and b) take such action as deemed to be in the public interest, including the interest of the public employees involved, to resolve the disputed impasse issues.

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos, seconded by Commissioner Warren, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Mayor Poe, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Hayes-Santos

Nay: 3 - Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Johnson, and Commissioner Simmons

ADJOURNMENT - 10:49 PM

City of Gainesville