# **City of Gainesville**

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



### **Minutes - Final**

May 16, 2019 12:00 PM

**City Commission Swearing-In Ceremony** 

**Thomas Center** 

## **City Commission**

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large)
Commissioner Helen Warren (At Large)
Commissioner Gail Johnson (At Large)
Commissioner Gigi Simmons (District 1)
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Harvey Ward (District 2)
Commissioner David Arreola (District 3)
Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

#### CALL TO ORDER - 12:06 PM

#### **AGENDA STATEMENT**

#### **ROLL CALL**

**Present** 7 - Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren, Commissioner Johnson, Commissioner Simmons, Commissioner Hayes-Santos, and Mayor Poe

#### ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Ward, seconded by Commissioner Simmons, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren,
Commissioner Johnson, Commissioner Simmons, Commissioner
Hayes-Santos, and Mayor Poe

#### **INVOCATION**

**Alachua County Faith Leaders Alliance** 

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Reichert House Color Guard

**OATH OF OFFICE - Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos** 

**OATH OF OFFICE - Mayor Lauren Poe** 

**Comments from Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos** 

**Comments from Mayor Lauren Poe** 

#### **ELECTION OF MAYOR-COMMISSIONER PRO TEM**

181050. Election of Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem (NB)

Motion: Appoint Commissioner Ward to Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem.

RECOMMENDATION The City Commission appoint a City Commissioner as

Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem for the 2019-2020 term.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hayes-Santos, seconded by Commissioner Warren, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The

#### motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Arreola, Commissioner Warren,
Commissioner Johnson, Commissioner Simmons, Commissioner
Hayes-Santos, and Mayor Poe

**ADJOURNMENT - 12:53 PM**