# **City of Gainesville**

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



## **Minutes**

September 21, 2021

5:30 PM

**Hybrid Meeting** 

**GRU Multipurpose Room** 

# **Gainesville Community Reinvestment Area Advisory**

## **Board**

Jason Atkins-Tuffs
K. Richard Blount
Carrie Bush
Linda Dixon
Evelyn Foxx
Armando Grundy-Gomes
Jacob Ihde
Christopher Merritt
Jason Mitchell
Warren Nielsen
Michael Palmer
Bradley Pollitt - Chair
Stephanie Seawright – Vice Chair
Jessica Turner-Evans
Joakim Nordqvist

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352) 334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users

please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

#### CALL TO ORDER

6:10 p.m. upon arrival of Member Blount, which established quorum.

#### **ROLL CALL**

**Present** 8 - Member Blount, Member Bush, Member Dixon, Member Foxx, Member Ihde, Member Mitchell, Vice-Chair Seawright, and Nordqvist

**Absent** 7 - Member Atkins-Tuffs, Member Grundy-Gomes, Member Merritt, Member Nielsen, Member Palmer, Chair Pollitt, and Member Turner-Evans

#### ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Member Foxx, seconded by Member Bush, that this matter be Adopted. The motion CARRIED by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Member Blount, Member Bush, Member Dixon, Member Foxx, Member Ihde, Member Mitchell, Vice-Chair Seawright, and Nordqvist

**Absent:** 7 - Member Atkins-Tuffs, Member Grundy-Gomes, Member Merritt, Member Nielsen, Member Palmer, Chair Pollitt, and Member Turner-Evans

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Member Foxx, seconded by Member Bush, that this matter be Adopted. The motion CARRIED by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Member Blount, Member Bush, Member Dixon, Member Foxx, Member Ihde, Member Mitchell, Vice-Chair Seawright, and Nordqvist

**Absent:** 7 - Member Atkins-Tuffs, Member Grundy-Gomes, Member Merritt, Member Nielsen, Member Palmer, Chair Pollitt, and Member Turner-Evans

#### COMMUNICATIONS

#### REQUEST TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

Request to Address the board was withdrawn.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Member Bush, seconded by Member Ihde, that this matter be Adopted on the Consent Agenda. The motion CARRIED by the

#### following vote:

Aye: 8 - Member Blount, Member Bush, Member Dixon, Member Foxx, Member Ihde, Member Mitchell, Vice-Chair Seawright, and Nordqvist

**Absent:** 7 - Member Atkins-Tuffs, Member Grundy-Gomes, Member Merritt, Member Nielsen, Member Palmer, Chair Pollitt, and Member Turner-Evans

210270. GCRA Business Improvement Grant Update (NB)

210268. GCRA Housing Programs Update (NB)

210274. Heartwood Update (NB)

#### **BUSINESS DISCUSSION ITEMS**

<u>210271.</u> Downtown Strategic Plan Project Update (B)

Members Foxx, Mitchell, Nordqvist, Blount spoke to the matter. Tana Silva spoke to the matter.

<u>RECOMMENDATION</u> Hear presentation and provide input.

No Action Taken

201159. 8th & Waldo Project Update (B)

Move the staff recommendation but modify item 4 to say approve an amount up to \$210,000 pending outcome of the appraisal. Donald Shepherd spoke to the matter.

### RECOMMENDATION GCRA Director to GCRA Advisory Board:

- 1. Approve an amount of \$2,700 for property appraisal for the 806 NE Waldo Road; Gainesville, FL 32641 (Tax Parcel# 10515-002-000)
- 2. Approve an amount of \$4,020 for property boundary survey for 806 NE Waldo Road; Gainesville, FL 32641 (Tax Parcel# 10515-002-000)
- 3. Approve an amount of \$1,800 for Phase I Environmental Assessment for 806 NE Waldo Road; Gainesville, FL 32641 (Tax Parcel# 10515-002-000)
- 4. Approve an amount of \$210,000 to purchase the 806 NE Waldo Road; Gainesville, FL 32641 (Tax Parcel# 10515-002-000)

A motion was made by Member Dixon, seconded by Member Blount, that this Matter be Approved as Modified. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 8 - Member Blount, Member Bush, Member Dixon, Member Foxx, Member Ihde, Member Mitchell, Vice-Chair Seawright, and Nordqvist

**Absent:** 7 - Member Atkins-Tuffs, Member Grundy-Gomes, Member Merritt, Member Nielsen, Member Palmer, Chair Pollitt, and Member Turner-Evans

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Melanie Barr spoke to the matter.

**MEMBER COMMENT** 

**NEXT MEETING DATE** 

**ADJOURNMENT** 

7:17 p.m.