City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

October 12, 2021 1:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large)
Commissioner Reina Saco (At Large, Seat A)
Commissioner Desmon Duncan-Walker (District 1)
Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2)
Mayor Commissioner Pro-Tem David Arreola (District 3)
Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

CALL TO ORDER - 1:01 PM

AGENDA STATEMENT

ROLL CALL

Present 6 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco,
Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, and
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola, seconded by Commissioner Saco, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco,
Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, and
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola

BUSINESS DISCUSSION ITEMS

210499. Interim Appointment for the City Manager (B)

Motion: Appoint Cynthia Curry as Interim City Manager and authorize the Mayor to enter negotiations, and if those negotiations fail, enter negotiations with Fred Murry.

Public Comment: Cynthia Moore Chestnut, Evelyn Foxx and Mike Perkins

RECOMMENDATION

1) The City Commission discuss and select an individual as the Interim City Manager and take action as appropriate.

A motion was made by Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola, seconded by Commissioner Saco, that this Matter be Approved, as shown above. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco,
Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, and
Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola

PUBLIC COMMENT

Evelyn Foxx

MEMBER COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT - 1:40 PM

City of Gainesville