City of Gainesville

City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville, Florida 32601



Minutes - Final

October 18, 2021

3:00 PM

City Commission Special Meeting

City Hall Auditorium

City Commission

Mayor Lauren Poe (At Large) Commissioner Reina Saco (At Large, Seat A) Commissioner Desmon Duncan-Walker (District 1) Commissioner Harvey Ward (District 2) Mayor Commissioner Pro-Tem David Arreola (District 3) Commissioner Adrian Hayes-Santos (District 4)

If you have a disability and need an accommodation in order to participate in this meeting, please contact the Office of Equal Opportunity at (352)334-5051 at least two business days in advance. TTY (Text Telephone Telecommunication Device) users please call 711 (Florida Relay Service). For Speech to Speech (STS) relay, please call 1-877-955-5334. For STS Spanish relay, please call 1-877-955-8773. For STS French Creole relay, please call 1-877-955-8707.

CALL TO ORDER - 3:02 PM

Present 6 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola

AGENDA STATEMENT

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Ward, seconded by Commissioner Hayes-Santos, that this Matter be Adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

BUSINESS DISCUSSION ITEMS (BD) - GRU and General Government items placed on the agenda by the Charter Officers or moved from Consent.

<u>210504.</u> Public Safety Gun Initiative (B)

Lee Feldman, City Manager introduced the item.

A presentation was given by GPD Chief Tony Jones; Assistant Chief Lonnie Scott; John Alexander, GPD Program Coordinator; Captain Jamie Kurnick, Chief Inspector; and Terrence Pierce, Assistant Police Chief.

Public Comment: Kali Blount, Tana Silva, Milford Griner, Ben Vargas and Donald Shepherd.

RECOMMENDATION

For the commission to hear the presentation and comment on subject matter.

Heard

PUBLIC COMMENT

Donald Shepherd, Karl Anderson, Ben Vargas and Beverly Craig.

MEMBER COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT - 4:52 PM

Aye: 6 - Commissioner Hayes-Santos, Mayor Poe, Commissioner Saco, Commissioner Ward, Commissioner Duncan-Walker, and Mayor-Commissioner Pro Tem Arreola